Our Governance

How we are managed and governed

At Saint Joseph’s Shankill we strive for excellence: Excellence in our care, in our staff, in our services and in our facilities all stemming from good governance.

Our ‘home from home’ philosophy is only possible because of our investment in our models of care, and the overseeing of our quality management systems and strategies and action plans.

We continually audit ourselves, and our services.

These systems and strategies are implemented at Household level and reviewed by our Management Team.

Our Board of Directors are all experienced in governance at the highest level and oversee the running of the organisation and monitor a range of performance indicators including clinical risk management, financial management and HR management.

Saint Joseph’s Shankill is a service of and is supported financially and administratively by Saint John of God Hospital CLG which is governed by Emma Balmaine, Chief Executive and the Board of Directors.

How we are regulated

Saint Joseph’s Shankill is a registered designated centre for older people as determined in the Health Act 2007 (Regulations 2013).

National Quality Standards for Residential Care Settings for Older People in Ireland and Health Act 2007 (Regulations 2013)

We welcome HIQA (the Health Information and Quality Authority) as the independent Authority established to drive high quality and safe care for people using our service.

View our most recent HIQA report.

Meet the team
Emma Balmaine

Emma Balmaine

Chief Executive
Phone: 01 2771400
Email: emma.balmaine@sjog.ie
Norma Sheehan

Norma Sheehan

Director of Nursing

Email: norma.sheehan@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 271 9203

Adrian Doherty

Adrian Doherty

Human Resources Officer

Email: adrian.doherty@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 2823000

Siobhan Grant

Siobhan Grant

Fundraising Manager

Email: siobhan.grant@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 2719204

Ms Clare Wilson

Ms Clare Wilson

Accommodation/Catering Supervisor

Email: clare.wilson@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 2719206

Jimmy Sunderland

Jimmy Sunderland

Maintenance Supervisor

Email: jimmy.sunderland@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 2719221

Sinoy Allyboccus

Sinoy Allyboccus

Senior Nurse Manager

Email: sinnoy.allyboccus@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 271 9229

Ms Elaine Byrne

Ms Elaine Byrne

Administration Officer

Email: elaine.byrne@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 271 9222

Ms Sara Kuntz

Ms Sara Kuntz

Clinical Nurse Manager

Email: sara.kuntz@sjog.ie

Phone: 01 282 3000